Therefore, we did our own research and asked gun shops from our surrounding states, Indiana, Wisconsin, and Iowa, down to Kentucky and Tennessee and up to Vermont and Alaska.
According to the gun shop owner we spoke to, there appears to be many gray areas when dealing with concealed carry. Although each state has there own gray area, the consensus from state to state is training is a long shot! Not all states require training, but the owners we spoke to, think training is the bullet. However, as you know, the first thing to be off the list of priorities is unfortunately just that… Training.
However, we wanted to share with you our conversation with gun shop owners. So for example, in Indiana, individuals are allowed to carry a concealed weapon without any training required! Individuals simply follow the process.
However, Kentucky and Tennessee require training when applying for a permit. Further all individuals must have a background check and fingerprints sent to the FBI or local sheriffs office. Then after a certain amount of days the permit is approved.
In the state of Iowa, there are two different permits individuals may apply for and must meet certain requirements to obtain the permits. But individuals who have not had any gun safety training before must attend prior to applying. However, those who have had military experience are exempt from training requirements.
Unlike Illinois, any individual who applies for concealed carry license must attend training classes. In the states mentioned, they require only 6-8 hours of safety training, followed by a range test and lastly a written test, whereas Illinois requires 16 hours of training, a range test and written test.
Here are the questions we asked gun shop owners:
Q. Where may individuals carry?
A. Illinois = Concealed carry is allowed in designated areas and ban from carrying firearms in: bars, churches, elementary schools and their parking lots, hospitals, nursing homes, courts, airports and their parking lots etc. On the contrary, as for the workplace, it is the employer’s choice on whether or not to allow employees and visitors to carry firearms on company premises. Whereas compared to the states we listed, individuals may carry without many restrictions as we have in Illinois.
Q. What happens if an individual doesn’t remove their firearm in a no guns allowed area?
A. Illinois = An individual may be held responsible and it is can be classified as a misdemeanor. But as for other states that we researched such as Indiana, Kentucky and Tennessee individuals will be asked to leave the premises immediately. If you they do not leave immediately, the individual may be arrested for trespassing.
Q. What happens if an intruder enters a “no guns allowed” office, starts shooting and as a result, employees get hurt, is the company liable?
A. Illinois = There is great potential that employers in Illinois who do not allow guns on premise may be held liable. Whereas in the states listed above, the employers are granted immunity and the responsibility is on the individual.
Q. Can I ask if someone is carrying? And do they have to tell me?
A. Illinois = Per the statement of a Police Officer, he gave an example, that if a police officer pulls an individual over for speeding, the speeder must show, Drivers License, Insurance Card, and FOID Card. In the workplace, in Illinois and in the other states we approached, however, it is not explicitly prohibited that an employer does not ask. But it is advised that the employer have a legitimate reason. For example, alcohol is legal, however, employers prohibit employees to come to work drunk. However, if an employee appears to be drunk at work, the employer has an obligation and the authority to ask the employee if they have been drinking. Reason being, it is against company policy and increases potential of injury. If however, an employer does not have a legitimate reason to ask the employee, the employer is prohibited from asking.